He ain’t heavy he’s the Mainman…………

 

 I wrote this many years ago and now I dedicated to  Liverpool Labour Council – fruitless really as they never try to understand or listen…… their treatment of the mainman is outragious and their lack of duty of care led to the mainmans accident……….. and four operations.

I have walked with pride with the mainman at my side – and I have loved every step.

Read along…

Taking Care of the Mainman……….

When you walk in my shoes, then tell me not to fight.

When you’re the parent and are woken up in the night.

When you have faced the authorities, and they don’t believe a word you say.

Then I’ll know you’ll understand what I’ve been going through today.

When you walk in my shoes and no one listens to concerns.

When you’ve suffered as I have suffered because the authority just doesn’t care

Then I’ll know you understand what I’ve been going through today.

 

When you have walked in my shoes, and the years have carried on.

The constant care and giving and taking care of my son.

When you have felt the guilt I have, and all the sleepless nights.

Then you may ask me honestly, why do you have to fight.

 

When you walk in my shoes and it seems there is no rest

Your efforts seem for nothing, and you gave it all your best.

When you felt defeated, at the end of every day

Then I’ll know you understand what I’ve been going through today.

But until that day should happen, try and understand.

Why I get so angry and sometimes out of hand.

It’s because he’s my son, can’t you see I love him so

But until you walk in my shoes.

I guess you’ll never really know

Solidarity

red shoes 2

 

 

About Joedd

Mammy & Guru to the Mainman - Unpaid Carer Activist - Campaigner for Disabled Rights - Warrior Queen & Mna Feasa -
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He ain’t heavy he’s the Mainman…………

  1. Pingback: He ain’t heavy he’s the Mainman………… | For Love of the Mainman……

Leave a Reply

